Issue: I want to use Freedom, but how do I stop myself from just deleting the app?

Everyone has the occasional moments of weakness, and we know it can be to tempting to circumvent a Freedom session by exploiting an iOS loophole: deleting the Freedom app itself! Luckily, there is a way around this problem.

Ingredients needed

  • one iOS device
  • one Freedom account
  • one friend

iOS 12+

In iOS 12 and above, you'll use a combination of Screen Time's settings and passcode to achieve this effect.

Disable app removal

  1. Navigate to Settings -> Screen Time -> Content & Privacy Restrictions

2. Tap 'iTunes & App Store Purchases'

3. Tap on "Deleting Apps" and set to Don't Allow. Tap "Always Require" under "Require Password".

Set the Screen Time passcode

  1. Navigate to Settings -> Screen Time -> Tap "Use Screen Time Passcode"
  2. Give your device to your friend
  3. Your friend should make up a 4-digit code (or generate a random one here).
  4. Your friend should save the code somewhere where you can't find it (e.g. on a piece of paper or on their own phone or computer).
  5. Your friend should now enter the passcode into your phone (while you're not watching!). They will be asked to enter it twice.

iOS 11 and below  

In iOS 11, you'll manage this via Restrictions. Tap Settings → General → Restrictions

Tap “Enable Restrictions”

Set the Restrictions passcode

  1. Give your device to your friend.
  2. Your friend should make up a 4-digit code (or generate a random one here).
  3. Your friend should save the code somewhere where you can't find it (e.g. on a piece of paper or on their own phone or computer).
  4. Your friend should now enter the passcode into your phone (while you're not watching!). They will be asked to enter it twice.

Turn on the restriction for deleting apps

You're Free!

Now return to your home screen. You won't be able to delete any apps, and you won't be able to get into the Restrictions settings without having your friend enter the code.

Did this answer your question?