Desktop Controls Explained

The desktop controls are broken down into 5 areas: Account Info, Session Setup, Options, About/Updates, and Log Out/Quit:

Account Info

This section displays your device name, session status, and allows you to launch your browser dashboard.

  • Sync Freedom: Manually sync blocklists and sessions. Try this option if you've made changes that don't seem to be taking effect, or if sessions aren't starting or ending.

Session Setup

This section will allow you to start a Freedom session directly from your desktop menu.

  • Select Devices: Choose devices for the session.

  • Select Blocklists: Choose blocklists for the session.

  • Start a Session: Start session with selected devices and blocklists.

  • Schedule a Session: Manage scheduled sessions (opens the browser dashboard).

Session Options

This section allows you to control the Freedom app's behavior.

  • Manage Website Exceptions: This is where you add the URLs for the sites you want to allow. For more information on this feature, please see Mac Website Exceptions

  • Enable Website Exceptions: Website exceptions will only work when you have this selected.

  • Manage Blocked Desktop Apps: Opens a list of desktop apps that you can block with Desktop App blocking. Note: Apps may need to be running to populate on this list.

Options Menu

Mac Advanced Options

  • Options → Start at Login: When enabled, Freedom will launch when you log in to your computer.

  • Options → System Details: This contains information that is useful for troubleshooting any issues with Freedom. When contacting support, you may be asked to send this information.

  • Options → Non-Proxy Mode: This option can be used if you are experiencing proxy-related issues. Please see Non-Proxy Mode for Mac for more information. This option can only be selected when there are no active sessions.

  • Options → Locked Mode: When enabled, Freedom will prevent you from quitting or enabling some options during a running session. For more information, see Locked Mode.

  • Options → Block Activity Monitor: When enabled, Freedom will prevent you accessing Activity Monitor so you cannot force quit the app during an active block session.

  • Options → Block Fullscreen Apps: This will block any app if it's in fullscreen mode during a session. This setting is available to prevent circumventing of blocks by keeping apps in fullscreen mode.

  • Options → Kill Blocked Apps: If selected, blocked desktop apps will be force quit instead of hidden. Please use with caution, as quitting may potentially cause unsaved work (email drafts, etc.) to be lost.

  • Options → Play audio notification on session start/end: Select these if you want a sound to play upon notification of session beginning or end.

Update

  • About Freedom: Displays current version number.

  • Launch Tour: Launches a setup guide.

  • Update Freedom: Checks for updates.

Log out

  • Log out: Logs out of the client (useful for switching to a different Freedom account).

  • Quit: Quits the client.


Having trouble?

If you're having any difficulty, please feel free to send us an email at [email protected] or chat with us via the green chat bubble in the bottom right corner of the page. We're happy to help!

Did this answer your question?