CONTENTS:

Ending a session in locked mode

You are limited to a couple of options for ending an active session if you are in locked mode.

The 'End Session' Option

Even when you're using locked mode, you may occasionally need to end a session. To make things a little easier for you, we have introduced a feature that will allow you to stop a block - but accounts are limited to three uses of this feature.

To take advantage of this feature, follow these steps.

  1. Log in to your Freedom dashboard - https://freedom.to/dashboard

  2. Find the schedule you wish to stop in your list of running schedules, and click on it.

  3. Next, click on "Edit session," and the session editor will open up.

  4. Under the "Save" button at the bottom of the form, you will see an "End Session" link.  Click that, and you will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the session.

  5. After your session is deleted, please select "Sync Freedom" in the Mac/Windows menu, or re-open the app in Android/iOS to ensure the blocks are removed.

If you don't want to have the ability to delete sessions, simply click "Disable this feature" and it will be turned off for your account.

We think this is a good balance of giving you options if you need a session deleted, but still keeping in line with Freedom's intention of helping you stick to your goals.

Contacting support

Active sessions can be ended or deleted by contacting support. You can reach out by emailing [email protected], or by using the green chat bubble at the bottom right of your dashboard. Our support hours are Monday-Friday, 9-5 ET, and we can respond within a few minutes during that time. Outside of those hours, we do offer emergency support for session removals, but response times may be a few hours.

When contacting support, let us know if you would like to disable (end the current instance) or delete (completely remove) your session.

Ending a session when not in locked mode

Since Freedom is designed to keep you off time-wasting websites and apps while you focus, we have tried to make it difficult to circumvent. However, there are a few ways you can end a block session when necessary if you don't have Locked Mode enabled.

Ending a session by deleting the device on your dashboard

When not in locked mode, it's possible to delete devices on your dashboard. You can find this option by clicking the device name at the top left under 'My Devices':

Once the device is deleted, the schedule will become inactive, and you will then be able to click Edit Schedule > Delete.

Ending a session by changing your timezone

This works for shorter sessions. When not in locked mode, users can change their timezone at any time from https://freedom.to/profile. To get out of a session, you'll just need to change your timezone to one far away, so that your active sessions will no longer be running. The sessions will then become inactive, and you can delete or edit them before changing back to your regular time zone.

Quitting the app (Mac/Windows)

If you would like to be able to get out of sessions by quitting the app on Mac or Windows, you'll first want to make sure Options > Disable Quit During Sessions is not selected on the Freedom menu.

As long as that is deselected, you can exit sessions by quitting the Freedom desktop app. For more information on desktop menu options, please see Windows Desktop Menu Options Explained or Mac Desktop Menu Options Explained.

Please note that if you decide to quit in the middle of a session, the next time you reopen the app, the session will continue if it's still during the scheduled times.

Questions? Need more help?

If you're having any difficulty, please feel free to send us an email at [email protected] or chat with us via the green chat bubble in the bottom right corner of the page. We're always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?